TurboTax is committed to protecting your personal information. If we detect that your information is used in more than one account, we’ll notify you to make sure that you recognize the activity.

If you were notified that a tax return that contains your information is being filed and that the return is being placed on hold for 48 hours, this may be a signal that someone is trying to use your identity to file a tax return. The return has been placed on hold to give you an opportunity to cancel it if it doesn’t belong to you.

If you received this notification unexpectedly, or if you are not currently filing your taxes with IRS Free File Program delivered by TurboTax, it is important that you call TurboTax Customer Support at the number provided in your email. After the 48 hour period is over, TurboTax will transmit the return in accordance with IRS regulations.

Here are some other reasons you may have received this email:

  • You have used IRS Free File Program delivered by TurboTax or other TurboTax offerings in the past and are using a different account this year.
  • You changed your filing status from last year and are filing with a different IRS Free File Program delivered by TurboTax account this year.

If you have not taken any of the actions noted above, it may indicate that someone is trying to use your information to file a tax return. Please call us at 1-800-315-1481 and one of our agents can assist you.

Learn more about how TurboTax safeguards your data.